SIGBED Research and Career Awards

SIGBED Early Career Researcher Award 2020

Call for Nominations

ACM SIGBED in 2017 established the Early Career Researcher Award to recognize contributions by junior researchers in the area of embedded, real-time, and cyber-physical systems. We now encourage SIGBED community members to nominate researchers for the 2020 award.

Award Recipients


  • Nan Guan

    Hong Kong Polytechnic University


  • Alessandro Biondi

    Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna

  • Miroslav Pajic

    Duke University


  • Björn Brandenburg

    Max Planck Institute for Software Systems


The nominee should be a SIGBED member, should have obtained a PhD (or equivalent degree) after January 1, 2013, and have research focus on topics of relevance to SIGBED. See SIGBED webpage for SIGBED sponsored conferences to determine relevance and instructions regarding how to join SIGBED.

Nomination Process

The nomination consists of a letter from the nominator summarizing the nominee’s research contributions and explaining its significance and relevance to SIGBED, and two letters of endorsement. The nomination letter and the two endorsement letters should be sent as a single pdf file by email to the chair of the award selection committee. The subject of the email should be “Nomination for ACM SIGBED Early Career Researcher Award 2020”. Please contact the chair for any questions.

Nomination Deadline

In order to ensure full consideration, please send your nomination to the Chair of the Award Selection Committee by:

January 15, 2020.

But nominations might be accepted until a final decision is made.

Selection Criteria

The award selection committee will review the nomination package and collectively choose the winner based on the significance of the contributions to the SIGBED community. The committee has the option to decline to make the award.

Award Details

The chosen nominee will be notified around March 15, 2020, and the award will be presented by ACM SIGBED Chair at 2020 CPSWeek. The award consists of a plaque engraved with the nominee’s name, $1000 honorarium, and up to $2000 towards support for travel to CPSWeek. Funding for the award is provided by ACM SIGBED.

2020 Award Selection Committee

  • Samarjit Chakraborty (UNC Chapel Hill) – Chair, (Email: samarjit AT UNC CS address)
  • Sanjoy Baruah (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Reinhard Wilhelm (Saarland University)
  • Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli (UC Berkeley)
  • Prabal Dutta (UC Berkeley)
  • Massimo Poncino (Politecnico di Torino)
  • Kang Shin (University of Michigan)
  • Nikil Dutt (University of California, Irvine)

Conflict of Interest Policy

It is possible that members of the selection committee have worked with the nominees and may have a conflict of interest. The nominator should alert the chair about such conflicts. Conflicts of interest shall not automatically prevent a committee member from taking part in the selection process. However, if a member of the committee, or the chair of the committee, feels that the association of a committee member with a nominee would interfere with impartial consideration of the nominees, the member shall be excused from the relevant parts of the discussion. If the same committee member has conflicts with multiple nominees, the Chair of the committee may seek a replacement.

Past Award Selection Committees


  • Sanjoy Baruah (Chair), Washington University in Saint Louis
  • Rolf Ernst, Technical University of Braunschweig
  • Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University
  • Lothar Thiele, ETH Zurich
  • Marilyn Wolf, Georgia Tech


  • Rajeev Alur (Chair), University of Pennsylvania,
  • Sanjoy Baruah, Washington University in Saint Louis
  • Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University
  • Marilyn Wolf, Georgia Tech