SIGBED Research and Career Awards

SIGBED Early Career Researcher Award 2024

Call for Nominations

ACM SIGBED established the Early Career Researcher Award in 2017 to recognize contributions by junior researchers in the area of embedded, real-time, and cyber-physical systems. We are now inviting nominations for the 2024 edition of this award.


The nominee should

  • be a SIGBED member;
  • have obtained the PhD degree after 1 January 2016;
  • have a research focus on topics of relevance to embedded systems, as evidenced by venues of the majority publications.

Nomination Process

The nomination package should consist of a nomination letter summarizing the nominee’s research contributions and explaining their significance and relevance to SIGBED. The letter should also compare the nominee’s research impact and scholarship with others at a similar stage in their career, and make a convincing case for an early career award.

In addition, a summary document, listing in a tabular form, the following information about the nominee, should be included in the nomination package:

  • Name
  • Current affiliation and position/rank
  • Research area (max. 12 words)
  • Top journals and top conferences (max. 3 each) in the field of embedded systems where the nominee has published, along with how many publications in each of these forums
  • Three most important contributions, along with a short (max. 100 words) description for each of them, emphasizing theoretical breakthroughs and/or practical impacts
  • List of major awards/honors
  • Important research funding/projects along with the nominee’s role (PI/co-PI) and funding amount
  • Short description of contributions to education/teaching (max. 150 words), if applicable

Finally, a CV of the nominee is needed, containing a full publication list.

All these three documents (nomination letter, summary, and CV) should be sent as a single PDF file by email to ACM SIGBED (, from either the nominator or the nominee. The subject of the email should be “Nomination for ACM SIGBED Early Career Researcher Award 2024”.

Nomination Deadline

Please send in your nomination by 15 March 2024.

Award Details

The award will be presented at CPS-IoT Week 2024, consisting of a plaque engraved with the nominee’s name and a USD 2,000 honorarium. Funding for the award is provided by ACM SIGBED.

2024 Award Selection Committee

  • Chair: Wanli Chang
    Members are to be announced.

Any questions, please write to

Conflict of Interest Policy

The award committee members are not allowed to make nominations. If their former students or colleagues from the same institution are nominated, then appropriate steps will be taken to ensure that the decision on the award remains impartial.

Award Recipients


  • Zhishan Guo

    North Carolina State University


  • Marco Zimmerling

    University of Freiburg


  • Swarun Kumar

    Carnegie Mellon University


  • Nan Guan

    Hong Kong Polytechnic University


  • Alessandro Biondi

    Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna

  • Miroslav Pajic

    Duke University


  • Björn Brandenburg

    Max Planck Institute for Software Systems

Past Award Selection Committees


  • Edward Lee, UC Berkeley
  • Tulika Mitra, NUS (Chair)
  • Mani Srivastava, UCLA
  • Lothar Thiele, ETH
  • Ingrid Verbauwhede, KU Leuven
  • Marilyn Wolf, University of Nebraska–Lincoln


  • Tei-Wei Kuo (Chair), City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, & National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Samarjit Chakraborty, University of  North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
  • Nikil Dutt,  University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Joerg Henkel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Xue Liu, McGill University, Canada
  • Lothar Thiele,  ETH Zurich, Switzerland


  • Samarjit Chakraborty (UNC Chapel Hill) – Chair
  • Sanjoy Baruah (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Reinhard Wilhelm (Saarland University)
  • Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli (UC Berkeley)
  • Prabal Dutta (UC Berkeley)
  • Massimo Poncino (Politecnico di Torino)
  • Kang Shin (University of Michigan)
  • Nikil Dutt (University of California, Irvine)


  • Sanjoy Baruah (Chair), Washington University in Saint Louis
  • Rolf Ernst, Technical University of Braunschweig
  • Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University
  • Lothar Thiele, ETH Zurich
  • Marilyn Wolf, Georgia Tech


  • Rajeev Alur (Chair), University of Pennsylvania,
  • Sanjoy Baruah, Washington University in Saint Louis
  • Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University
  • Marilyn Wolf, Georgia Tech