SIGBED Research and Career Awards

SIGBED-SIGSOFT Frank Anger Memorial Award 2023 - 2024

Call for Applications

The Frank Anger Memorial Award is a student award in the name of the late Dr. Frank Anger that promotes cross-disciplinary research between embedded systems and software engineering. We are now soliciting applications from qualified students in the SIGBED community for the 2023-2024 award.


To qualify for the award, the student must be:

  • a member of SIGBED (how to join);
  • an author on a paper accepted for presentation at a SIGBED-sponsored conference in 2022 or 2023, i.e. LCTES, CHASE, ESWEEK, SENSYS, MEMOCODE, CPS-IoT WEEK;
  • undertaking research in embedded systems in a graduate program in an accredited college or university at the time of the paper’s presentation.

SIGBED Award Recipients

  • 2024: Zhengxiong Luo (Tsinghua University), Ipsita Koley (IIT Kharagpur)

  • 2022: Claudio Mandrioli (Lund University)

  • 2021: Akshay Gadre (Carnegie Mellon University)

  • 2020: Adeola Bannis (Carnegie Mellon University)

  • 2012: Indranil Saha (University of California, Los Angeles)

  • 2011: Mohamed A. Bamakhrama (Leiden University) and Miroslav Pajic (University of Pennsylvania)

  • 2009: Timothy Hnat (University of Virginia)

  • 2008: Georgios Fainekos (University of Pennsylvania)

  • 2007: Gabor Madl (University of California, Irvine)

  • 2006: Bernhard Egger (Seoul National University), Cesar Sanchez (Stanford University)

SIGSOFT Award Recipients

  • 2024: Max Camillo Eisele (Saarland University and Bosch)

  • 2021: Sumaya Almanee (UC Irvine)

  • 2019: Jacob Krüger

  • 2017: Ivan Ruchkin (Carnegie Mellon University)

  • 2013: Reinhard Schneider (TU Munich)

  • 2011: Aldeida Aleti (Swinburne University of Technology)

  • 2008: Basil Becker (University of Potsdam)

  • 2007: Stefan Henkler (University of Paderborn) and Chunyang Ye (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Application Process

An application should consist of the following documents:

  1. An up-to-date curriculum vitae, listing the student’s relevant publications (up to 2 pages);
  2. A synopsis of original research that the student is pursuing, with pointers to at least one publication at a SIGBED-sponsored conference in 2022 or 2023 (up to 2 pages);
  3. A proposal to attend a SIGSOFT conference (see in which the student discusses the potential for crossover in ideas between embedded systems and software engineering (up to 1 page);
  4. A support letter from the student’s research advisor, confirming that the student is in good standing and pursuing the research described in the above documents. Additional comments on the student’s capabilities in cross-disciplinary research are encouraged.

The application should be submitted to ACM SIGBED ( in
an email with the subject “Application for ACM SIGBED Frank Anger Memorial
Award 2023-2024” and copied to Prof. Rajeev Alur ( as Chair
of this award selection committee. The email should include the CV, the research synopsis, the research proposal, and the support letter as one single pdf file, and it should contain the name and email address of the applicant’s research advisor.

Application Deadline

Please submit your application by:

15 March 2024.

Selection Process

The winner of the SIGBED Frank Anger Memorial Award will be selected by an award committee based on the student’s research record and relevance to the cross disciplinary spirit of the award. The award will be announced on the SIGBED Website. The award consists of a plaque and up to USD 2,000 to cover the student’s expenses to attend the chosen SIGSOFT conference during the following year. Funding for the award is provided by ACM SIGBED.

Award Selection Committee 2023 - 2024

Chair: Rajeev Alur (University of Pennsylvania)
Members are to be announced.

This award is a unique opportunity to help promote cross-discipline research. All eligible applicants are strongly encouraged to apply.