SIGBED Research and Career Awards

SIGBED Frank Anger Memorial Award

Call for Nominations

The Frank Anger Memorial Award is a student award in the name of late Dr. Frank Anger to promote cross-disciplinary research between embedded systems and software engineering. SIGBED solicits applications from qualified student members (see below). The submission deadline is usually end of August each year and will be distributed to all SIGBED members well in advance.

Award Recipients

  • 2020: Adeola Bannis (Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh | Advisor: Pei Zhang)
  • 2012: Indranil Saha (University of California, Los Angeles)

  • 2011: Mohamed A. Bamakhrama (Leiden University) and Miroslav Pajic (University of Pennsylvania)

  • 2009: Timothy Hnat (University of Virginia)

  • 2008: Georgios Fainekos (University of Pennsylvania)

  • 2007: Gabor Madl (University of California, Irvine)

  • 2006: Bernhard Egger (Seoul National University), Cesar Sanchez (Stanford University)


To qualify for the award, a student must be:

  • author on a paper accepted for presentation at a SIGBED-sponsored conference in the current year or the year before.
  • undertaking research in embedded systems in a graduate program in an accredited college or university at the time of the paper’s presentation.
  • a member of SIGBED (how to join).


The application should be sent by email to the current SIGBED Secretary/Treasurer and should consist of:

  • a synopsis of research that the student is pursuing (2 paragraphs, with pointer to at least one publication at a SIGBED sponsored meeting during the year or year before).
  • a proposal to attend a SIGSOFT conference (see in which the student discusses the potential for crossover in ideas between the student’s research and research in software (2 paragraphs limit).
  • an email from the student’s research advisor confirming that the student is in good standing and pursuing the research described in the proposal.

Selection Criteria

The selection will be done by the SIGBED Executive Committee (current Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer) based on the student’s research record and relevance to the cross-disciplinary spirit of the award. The award will be presented during the ESWEEK event. The award consists of a certificate and up to $2000 to cover expenses of the student to attend the chosen SIGSOFT meeting during the next year. Contact the SIGBED Secretary/Treasurer for more information.